ACGME Core Competencies & What it Indicates

The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) chose to or instead actively support a set of competencies in 1999 to highlight the essential skills and medical knowledge that every licensed professional health care practitioner should possess. These six ACGME Core Competencies were developed to structure and reassess residents’ education.

The Outcome Project of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education aims to assist institutions in implementing competencies in their training programs and residency programs credible and reliable performance appraisal process based on these qualities, also involving the program director.

What do ACGME core competencies indicate?

ACGME core competencies

The ACGME Core Competencies assess a physician’s lifelong learning ability regarding ethical principles to understand specific knowledge regarding clinical situations, like accurately

  • how to accurately diagnose illness,
  • having all the appropriate and necessary patient information,
  • offering and implementing strategies having scientific evidence to improve patient health problems and wellness continuously,
  • providing advice and resources to patients to prevent disease, and
  • Provide physical and emotional support while caring for patients and interacting with their families and support systems while still maintaining professionalism.

The six competencies are as follows:

  1. Medical Knowledge
  2. Practice-Based Learning
  3. Improvement in Patient Care and procedural skills
  4. Interaction and effective information exchange
  5. Effortless and fluid behavior (the basis for all health care professionals)
  6. Systems-based practice (a practice that is predicated on health care system resources)

Resident requirement and expectations

To make sure the ACGME competencies are always kept in check, the health care team and all the faculty members are required to do the expected professional responsibilities that are aforementioned:

  1. Understand the principle of the patient care practices of existing and evolving physiological, clinical, and social sciences and how that expertise is implemented in patient care and instruction.
  2. When exploring new biomedical and healthcare information, physical examination, be open-minded and inquisitive.
  3. Gain a reasonable understanding of the diverse patient population core clinical and behavioral aspects that govern internal medicine operations.
  4. In particular cases under their responsibility, use the information gained from graduate medical education to help ability to think critically, clinical problem-solving,  emergency medicine, and clinical judgment call skills.
  5. Research and critically analyze updated medical specialties, clinical records, and scientific data, then implement alterations to your educational experiences and knowledge base as needed.

To become a registered practitioner in the United States and sit for the American Board of Medical Specialties, a Medical Doctor (MD) must complete one of the 9600+ residency training. In addition, the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education must have granted accreditation to this program (ACGME).

ACGME Milestones

ACGME Milestone

Quite lately, the ACGME has collaborated with ABMS industry partners to develop important milestones with each area of expertise that support the encompassing 6 competencies. Milestones provide a framework for evaluating residents and, later, physicians by utilizing core aspects of each professional competence that a medical professional is expected to demonstrate.

The ACGME can ascertain the preparation of residents and the efficacy of medical boot camps by evaluating the understanding, competence, and other character traits that take part in each ACGME Core Competency.

1. ACGME Case Logs
2. ACGME Program Search Guide


What are the 6 ACGME competencies?

●       Patient Care.
●       Medical Knowledge.
●       Practice-based Learning and Improvement.
●       Interpersonal and Communication Skills.
●       Professionalism.
●       System-based Practice.

What is measured in the Core Competencies by the ACGME?

The ACGME Core Competencies assess a physician’s ability to diagnose and treat illness, to provide and formulate strategies to constantly improve patient health and quality of life, provide advice and resources to patients to prevent disease, and provide not only physical but also emotional support while caring for patients and interacting with their families and support systems.

What are core competencies in healthcare?

Core competencies represent the reality, awareness, perception, and skills that health care professionals have identified as essential to their specific discipline. In addition, they support a social contract between the public and the practitioner.

What are the ACGME milestones?

The Milestones are expertise learning outcomes (e.g., wisdom, expertise, mentalities, and efficiency) that can be demonstrated progressively by residents/fellows from the start of their education through graduation to unsupervised training of their specialities for accreditation purposes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.